Sumter County Courthouse in Bushnell
    Cities & Towns:
  • Bushnell
  • Center Hill
  • Coleman
  • Lake Panasoffkee
  • The Villages
  • Webster
  • Wildwood

Sumter County is located in north central Florida almost mid-way between the coasts. Sumter County contains 545 square miles of land area and 35 square miles of water surface. Sumter County was officially formed on January 8, 1853 and named for General Thomas Sumter, a hero of the American Revolution. The county seat is Bushnell, but the largest "center" of population is an unincorporated retirement community named "The Villages."

Sumter County is crossed north/south by Interstate 75. Sumter County is also where Florida's Turnpike meets Interstate 75 (and heads southeast to Orlando and points beyond).