A typical Florida road in rainy season
    Cities & Towns:
  • Kissimmee
  • St. Cloud

Osceola County is located in east-central Florida. Osceola County was officially created on May 12, 1887 and now contains 1,322 square miles of land area and 184 square miles of water surface. The county seat is Kissimmee. Osceola County was named for Seminole Indian leader Osceola.

In the beginning, Osceola's economy was driven by citrus fruit production, but the back-to-back freezes of 1894-95 just about ended that. Then the area switched over to ranching and beef production. The big thing these days is retirees and the tourism draw to Orlando, right on the northern boundary of the county. Osceola County also attracts a large number of immigrants from Puerto Rico.