Okaloosa County Courthouse
    Cities & Towns:
  • Cinco Bayou
  • Crestview
  • Destin
  • Fort Walton Beach
  • Laurel Hill
  • Mary Esther
  • Niceville
  • Shalimar
  • Valparaiso

Okaloosa County is located in the western part of Florida's panhandle with Alabama to the north and the Gulf of Mexico to the south. Okaloosa County was officially created on June 13, 1915 and now contains 936 square miles of land area and 146 square miles of water surface. The county seat is Crestview.

Okaloosa is from the Choctaw for "black water." Part of what was Choctawhatchee National Forest was in Okaloosa County (but that forest is now Eglin Air Force Base). Part of Gulf Islands National Seashore is here, too.