Monroe County Courthouse
Monroe County Courthouse in Key West
    Cities & Towns:
  • Islamadora
  • Key West
  • Layton
  • Marathon

Monroe County is located in the southwestern corner of Florida. This is the home of the Everglades and the Florida Keys. Monroe County was officially formed on July 3, 1823 and now contains 997 square miles of land area and 2,740 square miles of water surface. Monroe County was named in honor of James Monroe, 5th President of the United States. The county seat is Key West.

A significant portion of Monroe County is contained within Everglades National Park. In Key West, a primary tourism draw is the Ernest Hemingway House. And the folks who run that house have a funny thing about polydactyl cats...

Monroe County is where you'll find the National Key Deer Refuge and the Crocodile Lake, Great White Heron and Key West National Wildlife Refuges.