Madison County Courthouse in Madison
    Cities & Towns:
  • Greenville
  • Lee
  • Madison

Madison County is located in northern Florida, against the Georgia border. Officially formed on December 26, 1827, Madison County now contains 692 square miles of land area and 24 square miles of water surface. Madison County is one of 5 counties in Florida that are "dry": ie: sales and public consumption of alcoholic beverages is banned by law. Madison County was named for the fourth President of the United States: James Madison. The county seat is Madison.

Singer and pianist Ray Charles was born and raised in Greenville, a small town in Madison County.