Leon County Courthouse in Tallahassee
    Cities & Towns:
  • Tallahassee

Lee County is located in northwestern Florida in the eastern part of the Florida panhandle. Officially founded on December 29, 1824, Leon County contains 667 square miles of land area and 35 square miles of water surface. Leon County was named in honor of Spanish explorer Juan Ponce de Leon. The county seat is Tallahassee (which is also the state capital).

Florida State University and Florida A&M University are located in Leon County. Leon County is also a major producer of cotton. Leon County is crossed east/west by Interstate 10. Part of Apalachicola National Forest is in Leon County.