Downtown Fort Myers
    Cities & Towns:
  • Bonita Springs
  • Cape Coral
  • Fort Myers
  • Fort Myers Beach
  • Sanibel

Lee County is located in southwestern Florida along the Gulf Coast. Officially founded on May 12, 1887, Lee County now contains 804 square miles of land area and 408 square miles of water surface. Lee County was named in honor of General Robert E. Lee, Confederate General during the American Civil War. The county seat is Fort Myers.

Lee County took the brunt of the hit from Hurricane Charley, a Category 4 storm that came ashore on August 13, 2004. Lee County is traversed north/south by Interstate 75.

Lee County is also home to the Caloosahatchee, J.N. "Ding" Darling, Pine Island and Matlacha Pass National Wildlife Refuges.