Lafayette County Courthouse
    Cities & Towns:
  • Mayo

Lafayette County is located in northwest Florida at the eastern end of the Florida panhandle. Named in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette (a French citizen who contributed greatly to the American victory in the Revolutionary War), Lafayette County was officially founded on December 23, 1853 and contains 543 square miles of land area and 5 square miles of water surface. The county seat is Mayo. Lafayette County is one of Florida's five dry (as in: no alcohol sold or consumed in a public venue) counties.

The entire eastern boundary of Lafayette County is the Suwannee River. Lafayette County is one of the least populated counties in Florida.