The First Baptist Church in the Marianna Historic District
    Cities & Towns:
  • Alford
  • Bascom
  • Campbellton
  • Cottondale
  • Graceville
  • Grand Ridge
  • Greenwood
  • Jacob City
  • Malone
  • Marianna
  • Sneads

Jackson County is located in the panhandle of Florida, against the border with Alabama and Georgia. Named for Andrew Jackson (Florida's first military governor in 1821, later President of the United States), Jackson County was officially created on August 12, 1822 and now contains 916 square miles of land area and 39 square miles of water surface. The county seat is Marianna.

The Jackson County War, a low-level guerilla action, happened in this area between 1869 and 1871. A group of Confederate Army veterans and Ku Klux Klan members waged a successful campaign to keep all political power in the hands of conservative white Democrats by assassinating more than 150 prominent African-Americans and Republican Party officials.

Interstate 10 traverses Jackson County east/west.