The mouth of the Apalachicola River
    Cities & Towns:
  • Apalachicola
  • Carrabelle
  • Eastpoint

Franklin County is located in the panhandle of Florida along Apalachee Bay on the Gulf Coast. Named for Benjamin Frankiln and officially founded on February 8, 1832, Franklin County contains 544 square miles of land area and 493 square miles of water surface. The county seat is Apalachicola.

St. Vincent National Wildlife Refuge and part of Apalachicola National Forest are in Franklin County.